Hello, World!

I joined WordPress on July 17th, 2016. Purely out of curiosity, really. I’ve been meaning to start a blog regarding tech since 2014, but never really sat down to do it. Over the past two years, I learned web development:

  1. HTML 5
  2. CSS 3
  3. JavaScript (ES5 and ES6)
  4. PHP
  5. Ruby
  6. SQL

So my initial thoughts were:

“I’ll just build my own site.”

I’ve built websites for others, so it shouldn’t be a big deal. Am I right?

And I started to do so a couple times, in fact. However something more important always came up. As I looked back at previous attempts, I realized how time consuming it was, and I hadn’t even began to publish blog posts.

So I decided to give WordPress “a fair go”.

Working as web developer, I am generally used to being in control of the page structure, css stylings and such…  I was admittedly intrigued by how little hands-on customization the free tier allows. But, of course, I immediately understood.

We’re all here to do blog, after all…

–Giovanni Orlando

Leave a Reply

